Friday, September 12, 2008

AFDO Scholarships

The Association of Food and Drug Officials (AFDO) is an international, nonprofit organization whose members are concerned with the development and enforcement of uniform food, drug and other consumer protection laws. Through its committees and the efforts of its Regular and Associate members, AFDO supports legislation, develops and circulates “model bills,” publishes information circulars and generally works to aid in the overall implementation of sound and effective consumer protection regulation.

In 1981, AFDO established a scholarship fund with the excess funds from the 75th Anniversary of the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act celebration. The George M. Burditt Scholarship and Betsy B. Woodward Scholarship in the amount of $1,500 each will be awarded annually to a worthy recipient who is in their third or fourth year of college. A third scholarship was created in June 2008 entitled the Denise C. Rooney Scholarship. This award is also worth $1,500 and will be awarded annually.

The following qualifications and conditions have been established for the award recipients:

The recipients should have demonstrated a desire to serve in a career of research, regulatory work, quality control, or teaching in an area related to some aspect of foods, drugs or consumer product safety; should have demonstrated leadership capabilities; and must have at least a 3.0 grade point average during the first two years of undergraduate study.

To apply, in addition to completing an application, an official and complete college transcript must be submitted along with letters of recommendation from two faculty members. Applications must be submitted by February 1st to be considered for the current year’s award. All applications and required materials must be submitted to Dr. Joanne M. Brown, Chair, AFDO Awards Committee by February 1, 2009.

To download an application please visit:

No comments:

Blog Archive

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter